Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Taylor Shoot_March 21, 2015-50

Maggie

As some of you know, I am starting a photography business, Life Illuminated!  Through my art I seek to offer visual stories reflecting the natural beauty of our lives as they unfold, weave together, and spring to new life.

Two weekends ago I had the joyous blessing of getting to photograph beloved friends of mine, the Taylor Family.  A family that has welcomed me in as one of their own.  We have found connections within Columbia Theological Seminary–where I graduated from and where Doug, the father, works–as well as worshiping at the same church, and, probably most importantly: we’re all West Coasters.

Our photo shoot was in celebration of their life together as a family and the sending off of their oldest daughter, Maggie, to college in the fall.  Maggie and I enjoyed half the shoot on our own, among the beautiful brick buildings around Grant Park and Oakland Cemetery (sounds morbid, but it’s gorgeous!  The bounteous flowers and exquisite mausoleums reflect new life always abounds…!).  Then, for the second hour we connected with her family and I followed them around getting to document their vivacious, silly, deeply loving interactions.  Here’s a glimpse into their story:

Maggie

Maggie

Maggie and Fiona

Maggie and Fiona

Fiona

Fiona

Jean and Doug

Jean and Doug

The Fam

The Fam

Sisters

Sisters

