Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“Could not lovers
say that every moment in their Beloved’s arms
was grace?

Existence is my arms,
though I well understand how one can turn
away from
me

until the heart has
wisdom.”

-Excerpt from “What is Grace”

For most of my life I’ve partnered wisdom with knowledge. I’ve equated acquiring and following wisdom – particular theories and methods of life tried and tested by others and myself – with a smart way to live. This has proved positive and fruitful.  I’ve managed my relationship with God much the same way.  I’ve believed it is wise to live “this” way and follow “these” patterns in an attempt to be faithful and obedient to God.

But now I have discovered another face of wisdom.  One more closely partnered with enlightenment – a transformation of heart and mind by the power of light and true love – than knowledge. For, I have now encountered deeper, more intimate experiences with God than ever before.

So, while I once drew near as a creature out of reverence and fear, to appease and honor God – a wise and worthy feat in response to the Creator of the universe – I now draw near as a lover out of affection and delight.  To enjoy my Beloved, deeply knowing my Beloved’s enjoyment of me.

I well understand how one can turn away from the Beloved until the heart has this wisdom.

 

