Reflections from December 18, 2012:

This morning on my flight from Atlanta to Vegas en route to Portland the Southwest Airlines Spirit magazine peeking out from its sleeve on the seatback in front of me caught my eye.  I thumbed through it and was immediately drawn to an article featuring a small, family-run bourbon distillery in Texas (for those of you who know me and know my growing interest in whiskeys you’re probably not surprised to hear about my intrigue with this story, maybe you’re even chuckling to yourself).

I found myself just beaming as I read the article.  Beaming because I was reading about art and craft which I enjoy myself.  Beaming because I was seeing an example of people actually slowing down and returning to a more sane and meaningful lifestyle. A lifestyle here being affirmed as acceptable and not entirely crazy.  I was also beaming, most of all I think, because this story was confirmation there are others out there willing to risk what is conventional and secure for their dreams and passions and bearing proof that there can be success, and even more–fullness of life!

Some of the highlights:

“…the slow loosening of laws, the widespread success of the local food movement, the craft-beer boom, and a shifting economy have inspired spirits enthusiasts to ditch their careers and pursue their passions.” p 78

‘There are 24 [distilleries] within a 30-mile radius of downtown Portland, Oregon…for the true craftspeople among this new cast, the pride, beauty, the raison d’etre, lies in a “land to glass” mentality.’  (Looks like I’m on my way to the right place!) p 80

“The goal isn’t to saturate a mass market; it’s to resurrect a lost art and place value in the homemade.” p 80

“The process is time-consuming and labor-intensive–words that many businesses associate with failure.  But Dan Garrison [featured distiller] wouldn’t have it any other way.” p 83

You can find the full article by visiting: http://www.spiritmag.com/features/article/spirits_guide_to_spirits1/

